The best kind of adventure…

I have been reading the incredible book by Bob Goff entitled Love Does.  I know there has been a lot of hype about it for a while, but I am just now getting around to reading it myself.

Today, I just want to share a quote that I think sheds light on the best way to see our life…our journey…our adventure with God:

“I think a father’s job, when done best, is to get down on both knees, lean over his children’s lives, and whisper, ‘Where do you want to go?’  Every day God invites us on the same kind of adventure.  It’s not a trip where He sends us a rigid itinerary, He simply invites us.  God asks what it is He’s made us to love, what it is that captures our attention, what feeds that deep indescribable need of our souls to experience the richness of the world He made.  And then, leaning over us, He whispers, ‘Let’s go do that together.'”

Although that was completely and absolutely exquisitely put, I want to add a little something a bit more personal that connects with this beautiful picture Goff has described.

As I described in my first post, I came to Guatemala for the first time over three years ago and immediately wanted to return after only being here one week.  It was like God poured out a passion for this country and its people, and I was drenched.  What I did not mention before was that I went through a period of time in which I thought I would never be able to return to Guatemala.

Maybe the reason I don’t have enough funds to go is that God is simply closing the door, I thought.

People even told me that.  Maybe God just wants you to stay in the states and teach.  In all honesty, I was pretty discouraged when I heard that. At the time, I had virtually no passion for the American education system. I prayed a lot about this and came to the conclusion that I needed to be ok with whatever plan God had.  I still had a HUGE passion for Guatemala, but after a lot of prayer, I realized that I simply needed to be open to wherever God led me, whether in the states or overseas.

That period of questioning and learning to just trust was about two years ago…

Right now, I am sitting in a house in Guatemala typing this.

I just completed my first week of teaching English at a local school in Sumpango, Guatemala.

God has provided me with an amazing opportunity to experience life where I am most passionate.

I don’t say all of this to say that I have it all together or that I am the perfect “truster” in God’s plan.  Eh.  No, not at all.

I say all of this to encourage you in your passions.  Whatever you think God has impassioned you in, He can and does give opportunities to experience those passions.

It may not happen the way we want it to, but that’s the beauty of how God moves…He has a vision greater than our own.

He wants to take us on the best kind of adventure.  Passionate.  Indescribable.  With Him.

Leave a Reply

